The Books of 2010

I look back on this year and I find I am amazed by it.  One of the most striking of the year’s accomplishments is the fact that I set a goal to read 50 books and I read 53.  To have completed this goal, in excess even, makes me feel incredibly good.  I learned much from the experience and I’m looking forward to the books I will read in the new year ahead.

One of the fun parts of having read so many books is the chance to revisit the list and give you the best and worst books of the year.  I’ll keep the lists free of commentary clutter, but if you’d like to see my brief thoughts on these books, please visit the 2010 book list.

Top Five Books of 2010:

1. Seabiscuit – Lauren Hillenbrand

2. The Foundling/The Lamplighter – D.M.Cornish

3. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie – Alan Bradly

4. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

5. Bunnicula – Debra and James Howe

Worst Five Books of 2010:

1. The Secret of Lost Things – Sheridan Hay

2. The Golden Compass – Phillip Pullman

3. The Midwife’s Apprentice – Karen Cushman

4. Under the Tuscan Sun – Frances Mayes

5. Stranger in a Strange Land – Robert A. Heinlein

Leave a Reply

